FCS Financial Marketer of the Year

FCS Financial Marketer of the Year

15th Anniversary FCS Financial Marketer of the Year celebrated winner Street Global Advisors and runners-up E*TRADE Financial and New York Life

State Street Global Advisors and John Brockelman, Global Head of Brand Marketing & Communications, were named the 2020 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year (FMY). This Award recognizes innovation, creativity and impact in the financial services marketplace, and rewards the marketer and the marketing leader responsible. The award was presented during a live virtual award ceremony on the evening of Wednesday, December 9, 2020.


A panel of 16 senior marketing executives reviewed a record number of submissions for this year’s Award. 

The panel also recognized as runners-up E*TRADE Financial and Andrea Zaretsky, Chief Marketing Officer (first runner-up), and New York Life and David Williams, Head of Advertising, Sponsorships and Creative Services (second runner-up), for their marketing accomplishments in 2020.


  • Presenting sponsor

    Fundamental Media
  • Presenting sponsor

  • Partner sponsor

    Gale + Assembly
  • Partner sponsor

    McCann Worldgroup
  • Partner sponsor

    The Strategic Agency
  • Happy Hour Toast sponsor

  • Anniversary Tribute sponsor

    Fundamental Media


The FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Award celebrates how marketing and communications can advance a firm’s business objectives and elevate the standard for exceptional work in the marketplace.


The Judging Panel for the 2020 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Award included 16 senior executives from leading financial companies:

  • Kari Axberg, VP, Co-Head of Marketing, New York Life
  • John Brockelman, Senior Managing Director, Global Head of Brand Marketing & Communications, State Street Global Advisors
  • Jennifer Brockington, Senior Director, Advertising, Media, Content, Ally Financial
  • Deborah Bussiere, Global Chief Marketing Officer, Broadridge
  • Maureen Duff, Managing Director, Global Head of Marketing, Issuer Services, Pershing, Treasury Services, BNY Mellon
  • Jessica Fernandez, Head of WMI Segment Marketing, Invesco
  • Porter Gale, Chief Marketing Officer, U.S. Wealth Management, Personal Capital
  • Dipti Kachru, Chief Marketing Officer, U.S. Wealth Management, J.P. Morgan Chase
  • Elizabeth Kelley, Head of Segment Marketing, Fidelity Investments
  • Alison Lazzaro, VP, Head of Brand Marketing & Advertising, Prudential
  • Arianna Orpello Lewko, SVP, Brand, Channel, Community and Field Marketing Strategy, TD Bank
  • Justin Poser, Director of Marketing -- Businesses, Digital, Direct and Content Marketing, M & T Bank
  • David Thuma, EVP, Chief Marketing Officer, PNC
  • Sylvia Toense, Head of Global Brand Marketing, T. Rowe Price
  • John von Brachel, SVP, Content Marketing Executive, Bank of America
  • Andrea Zaretsky, Chief Marketing Officer, E*TRADE Financial

The Award was chosen by this panel based upon a submitted case study detailing the effective execution of marketing communications plans that achieved clearly stated objectives linked to quantitative and qualitative results. The panel was tasked with rating submissions in terms of demonstrated excellence in the following areas, in order of importance:

  1. Strong Results: Directly related to objectives, quantitative (not anecdotal) evidence
  2. Clear Strategy, defining the campaign objectives, target, benefit and insight
  3. Consistent Execution, aligned with strategy, applied consistently across all executions

FMY Committee

The 2020 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Committee included:

  • Nia Armstrong, Investing Media Solutions
  • Nick Bernardo, The Washington Post
  • Paul Leibowitz, Leibowitz Branding & Design
  • Vanessa Sandri, FCS
  • Kevin Windorf, FCS

Judging Chairs:

  • Tom Jago, The Ward Group
  • Melissa Scauri, Morgan Stanley

Any questions about the Award, the Submission Process or the Gala can be sent to [email protected].


2019   Ally Financial; Andrea Brimmer

2018   E*TRADE Financial; Lea Stendahl

2017   Ally Financial; Andrea Brimmer

2016   Prudential; Niharika Shah

2015   Citi; Elyssa Gray

2014   Edward Jones; Brad Iversen

2013   TD Bank; Vinoo Vijay

2012   Prudential; Colin McConnell

2011   Liberty Mutual; Paul Alexander

2010   MetLife; Beth Hirschhorn

2009   Fidelity Investments; Jim Speros

2008   E*TRADE Financial; Nick Utton

2007  Merrill Lynch Global Wealth Management; Rich Aneser

2006   Smith Barney; Barbara Glasser


Any marketer from an eligible financial services entity may be nominated regardless of FCS membership. Eligible financial services entities include: banks, credit card companies, securities firms, financial advisors, discount brokers, exchanges, financial information companies, mutual funds, ETFs or other investment instruments, asset management companies, accounting firms, insurance products and services (excluding health insurance). Individuals can nominate themselves and multiple individuals can be nominated from (distinct business units) within one organization.

In the spirit of peer-to-peer professional recognition, there are no fees required of any entrant.

Join our community

Become a member

Sign up or renew your FCS membership in 2021 and take advantage of a special discounted rate of $450 .