FCS Financial Marketer of the Year

Northwestern Mutual and Chief Marketing Officer Lynn Teo were named the 2023 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year (FMY). This Award recognizes innovation, creativity and impact in the financial services marketplace, and rewards the marketer and the marketing leader responsible. The award was presented during a sold-out awards gala on the evening of Thursday, November 30th.

A panel of 14 senior marketing executives reviewed a diverse array of submissions for this year’s Award.  The panel also recognized as runners-up Ally and Andrea Brimmer, Chief Marketing & PR Officer (first runner-up), and AllianceBernstein and Pinki Mehta, SVP/Managing Director, Co-Head of Global Marketing (second runner-up), for their marketing accomplishments in 2023.

The Judging Day co-sponsors were FOX Business and The Wall Street Journal | Barron’s Group. The Gala was sponsored by AllianceBernstein, Ally, Fundamental Media, and Northwestern Mutual. The agency of record was Leibowitz.

At the Gala, the FCS announced donations to three children’s charities, as selected by the FMY winners:

  • Lynn Teo: $3,000 to Alex’s Lemonade Stand (Foundation for Childhood Cancer)
  • Andrea Brimmer: $1,000 to the 22q Family Foundation
  • Pinki Mehta: $1,000 to Rock The Street, Wall Street

The FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Award celebrates how marketing and communications can advance a firm’s business objectives and elevate the standard for exceptional work in the marketplace.

Winner of the 2023 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Award

Northwestern Mutual and Lynn Teo


The Judging Panel for the 2023 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Award included 14 senior executives from leading financial companies.

  • Kari Axberg New York Life VP, Co-Head of Marketing
  • Chuck Burke Morgan Stanley Managing Director-Head of Global Marketing for Investment Management
  • Dana Caragine Arbor Realty Trust Senior Vice President, Marketing & Communications
  • Koley Corte MetLife SVP & CMO, Corporate and Institutional
  • Henry Detering Neuberger Berman Chief Marketing Officer
  • Stephanie Dobbs-Brown ICE Chief Marketing Officer
  • Sarah Estwick Invesco Head of Marketing
  • Arielle Gross Samuels Blackstone Global Head of Marketing
  • Erica Hughes Ally Senior Director, Multi-Cultural Marketing
  • Dipti Kachru Broadridge Global Chief Marketing Officer, Financial Services
  • Jeff Kelley Calamos Investments Senior Vice President, Head of Marketing Execution
  • Jennie Platt TD Bank US Head of Marketing
  • Lynn Teo Northwestern Mutual Chief Marketing Officer
  • Leslie Walstrom Columbia Threadneedle Investments Global Head of Marketing

Past Winners

  • 2022 Emily Pachuta Invesco
  • 2021 Andrea Brimmer Ally
  • 2020 John Brockelman State Street Global Advisors
  • 2019 Andrea Brimmer Ally
  • 2018 Lea Stendahl E*TRADE Financial
  • 2017 Andrea Brimmer Ally
  • 2016 Niharika Shah Prudential
  • 2015 Elyssa Gray Citi
  • 2014 Brad Iversen Edward Jones
  • 2013 Vinoo Vijay TD Bank
  • 2012 Colin McConnell Prudential
  • 2011 Paul Alexander Liberty Mutual
  • 2010 Beth Hirschhorn MetLife
  • 2009 Jim Speros Fidelity Investments
  • 2008 Nick Utton E*TRADE Financial
  • 2007 Rich Aneser Merrill Lynch Global Wealth Management
  • 2006 Barbara Glasser Smith Barney

FMY Committee

The 2023 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Committee includes:

  • Tom Jago The Ward Group
  • Melissa Scauri Morgan Stanley
  • Brent Buntin Code and Theory
  • Katie Weber Wall Street Journal | Barron’s Group
  • Rob Pfeiffer FOX Business
  • Sheevani Raikundalia Bloomberg Media
  • Kirti Naik SMC Blockchain
  • John McCormick AdNode
  • Karen List LMG
  • Paul Leibowitz Leibowitz
  • Anna Gutowski Informa
  • Kevin Windorf 2112 Communications
  • Marisa Jago FCS