E*TRADE Financial Wins 13th Annual FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Award

The FCS announces today that E*TRADE Financial has been named the 2018 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year.  The award will be presented to Lea Stendahl, Chief Marketing Officer, at a gala dinner on November 29, 2018 at the New York Yacht Club in New York City.  A panel of 13 senior marketing executives reviewed numerous submissions for this year’s Award.  The panel also recognizes as runners-up Matthew Quale, Chief Marketing Officer, Brighthouse Financial, and Jennifer Halloran, Head of Brand, Advertising,Community Responsibility and Client Acquisition, MassMutual, for their marketing accomplishments in 2018.

Now in its 13th year, the annual Award recognizes financial services companies whose marketing has driven outstanding business results during the year.

E*TRADE is being recognized for reclaiming its leadership among an increasingly crowded field of self-directed investment platforms.  With the launch of its “Don’t Get Mad, Get E*TRADE” campaign, the company returned to its edgy challenger brand roots.

“We are delighted to be recognized by the Financial Communications Society for our campaign ’Don’t Get Mad, Get E*TRADE’,” said Ms. Stendahl. “I’m proud of our team and agency for creating a strategy true to our heritage as an irreverent challenger brand, modernized by injecting cultural insights that connect us with an audience of contemporary, digital-first investors. Bold storytelling and humor has always been a hallmark of our approach to help demystify finances for consumers, and it’s rewarding to put the brand to work in contributing to meaningful business growth.”

The FCS is also honoring the top two runners-up in the 2018 contest:

  • Matthew Quale, Chief Marketing Officer, Brighthouse Financial, for its continued efforts to build the new Brighthouse brand and its Shield Annuities
  • Jennifer Halloran, Head of Brand, Advertising,Community Responsibility and Client Acquisition, MassMutual, for its brand “refresh”

“Each year we receive impressive nominations from across our industry, and this year is no exception,” said Kevin Windorf, CEO of the FCS. “As standout nominees, E*TRADE, Brighthouse and MassMutual demonstrated that authenticity is what makes a brand successful.  It allowed them to take chances and connect with their consumers in ways that others could not imitate.  This is true whether you are an established brand with a 100-plus year legacy, a 2-year old newcomer, or s well-recognized brand with a history of disruption.”

The Judging Panel for the 2018 FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Award included 13 senior executives from leading financial companies:

  • Elyssa Gray, Vice President, Brand, Betterment
  • Martin Lange, Global Head of Marketing Innovation, BNY Mellon
  • Jim Hummerstone, Director of Global Advertising & Media, CFA Institute
  • Mark Ingall, Managing Director, Citi
  • Gordon Abel, Chief Marketing Officer, Dynasty Financial Partners
  • Lauren Radcliffe, Vice President of Marketing, Media and Acquisition, E*TRADE Financial
  • Kate Gunning, Executive Director, Global Head of Brand Strategy and Activation, J.P. Morgan Asset Management
  • Bill Webster, Brand Director, National Life Group
  • Dan Allocca, Managing Director, Head of Demand Generation & Marketing Analytics, Nuveen
  • Alison Lazzaro, Vice President, General Manager Brand Marketing & Advertising, Prudential
  • Mark McKenna, Head of Global Marketing, Putnam Investments
  • Alissa Von Volkom, SVP, Director of Product Marketing, TD Bank
  • David Fineman, VP, Head of Media, T. Rowe Price

Sponsorship options, table reservations and ticket sales for the November 29th gala are available here.

The FCS Financial Marketer of the Year Award recognizes the marketing organization whose marketing strategy and strong performance provides an inspiring example of how marketing and communications can advance a financial services firm’s business objectives and elevate the standard for exceptional work through innovation, creativity and impact in the marketplace. The winner is selected among nominated firms by a panel of senior marketers in financial services and advertising agencies.